Skip to main content

Paramedic Credentials and Levels of Care

What's the difference between an emergency medical responder and a primary care paramedic? What are advanced care paramedics and critical care paramedics? Find out more about the levels of care provided by BCEHS paramedics.

View a larger version of the infographic in PDF format.

  • Emergency Medical Responder: Licensed to administer basic life-saving emergency medical care.
  • Primary Care Paramedic: Licensed to administer more advanced patient care than EMRs, the majority of BC paramedics are PCPs, and they handle the majority of 911 calls.
  • Community Paramedic: Licensed at the PCP-IV level or higher to provide non-emergency and scheduled care to patients as part of an integrated healthcare team.
  • Advanced Care Paramedic: Specialize in advanced care of medical and trauma patients with a focus on advanced cardiac resuscitation.
  • Critical Care Paramedic: Highest level of specialized care with a focus on acute interfacility transport, air medical response, and infant, child and perinatal care.
  • Paramedic Specialist: Advanced Care and Critical Care paramedics who provide on-scene technical support for high-risk situations, mass and complex patient events as well as telephone support to paramedics and patients. 

SOURCE: Paramedic Credentials and Levels of Care ( )
Page printed: . Unofficial document if printed. Please refer to SOURCE for latest information.

Copyright © BC Emergency Health Services. All Rights Reserved.

    Copyright © 2024 Provincial Health Services Authority.